Aller au contenu principal

Everest

Chef / Propriétaire J. Joho

Connu dans le monde entier pour avoir fait une marque indélébile sur le monde culinaire avec sa cuisine personnelle exquise, le Chef J. Joho est entré humblement dans la profession comme un 6-ans, épluchant des légumes dans la cuisine de sa tante en Alsace. Sa formation officielle a débuté comme apprenti 13-year-old pour Paul Haeberlin de l'acclamée L'Auberge de L'Ill, et a continué dans les cuisines en France, en Italie et en Suisse. À l'âge de 23, Joho était le sous-chef d'un restaurant trois étoiles Michelin où il commandait un personnel 35. C'est pendant ses études à l'école hôtelière de Strasbourg que Joho s'est immergé dans l'hôtellerie et la restauration, ainsi que dans les métiers de la pâtisserie, du fromage et du vin.

Le succès international de Joho a débuté au 40thth Floor de la Bourse de Chicago avec Everest, qui est maintenant l'une des salles à manger les plus prestigieuses au monde. Aujourd'hui, ses établissements situés à Chicago (Everest, Studio Paris), Boston (Brasserie JO) et Las Vegas (Restaurant Tour Eiffel) établissent des normes pour les repas et remportent des honneurs à chaque tournant. Joho est également partenaire de plusieurs autres concepts, notamment Nacional 27 et M Burger à Chicago.

Très inspiré par les arts, Joho a rempli sa maison et ses restaurants du travail de plusieurs de ses amis, dont Ivo Soldini, le sculpteur suisse dont les statues de bronze ornent chacune des tables de l'Everest, et John Westmark, le peintre. Joho est également l'auteur de «Le livre de recettes des restaurants de la Tour Eiffel: saisir la magie de Paris», où il a partagé ses plats emblématiques avec 50, transportant la magie de Paris dans les cuisines de maisons de gourmets à travers le pays.

Récemment, le chef Joho et son équipe à l'Everest ont reçu quatre étoiles de Phil Vettel dans sa revue de Chicago Tribune. L'année dernière, il a été nommé «Restaurateur de l'année» par Gayot.

Skip to Main content

Everest

As part of our ongoing effort to slow the community transmission of COVID-19, LEYE will temporarily close all of its locations for dine-in guests in Illinois, California, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada and Washington D.C. effective Tuesday, March 17, 2020, until we are permitted to re-open by the applicable government authority. We are now open for delivery, carry-out and curbside pick-up.
To help offset restrictions on our business resulting from the COVID-19 crisis, a 4% surcharge has been added to all guest checks. If you would like this removed, please let us know.

Contact us

Chef/Proprietor J. Joho

Known the world over for having made an indelible mark on the culinary world with his exquisite personal cuisine, Chef J. Joho humbly entered the profession as a 6-year-old, peeling vegetables in his aunt’s restaurant kitchen in Alsace, France. His formal training began as a 13-year-old apprentice for Paul Haeberlin of the acclaimed L’Auberge de L’Ill, and continued in kitchens in France, Italy and Switzerland. By the age of 23, Joho was the sous chef at a Michelin three-star restaurant where he commanded a 35-person staff. It was while he was studying at the Hotel Restaurant School in Strasbourg that Joho immersed himself in the hotel and restaurant business, as well as the arts of pastry, cheese and wine.

Joho’s rise to international success began on the 40th floor of the Chicago Stock Exchange with Everest, which is now one of the world’s premier dining rooms. Today, his establishments across the country in Chicago (Everest, Studio Paris), Boston (Brasserie JO) and Las Vegas (Eiffel Tower Restaurant) set standards for dining and win accolades at every turn. Joho is also a partner in several other concepts, including Chicago’s Nacional 27 and M Burger.

Hugely inspired by the arts, Joho has filled his home and restaurants with the work of many of his friends, including Ivo Soldini, the Swiss sculptor whose bronze statues adorn each of the tables at Everest, and John Westmark, the painter. Joho has also authored “The Eiffel Tower Restaurant Cookbook: Capturing the magic of Paris” where he shared 50 of his signature dishes, transporting the magic of Paris into kitchens of gourmet homes across the country.

Recently, Chef Joho and his team at Everest were awarded four stars by Phil Vettel in his re-review in Chicago Tribune. Last year he was named ‘Restaurateur of the Year’ by Gayot.